Recipe Write Up: Lemon Pancakes with Mixed Fruit

IMG_20130721_140443_20130729194855367I’m going to be honest here, I am not really a big fan of breakfast. While some people may enjoy making the meal a big affair, determined to cram in all of the major food groups onto one plate, I’d much rather sleep in and miss the whole thing. In fact, when I was an undergrad, this was the meal I was most likely to skip. Now don’t go thinking that I hate breakfast as a whole. Personally I agree that one is much better off starting their day with a healthy meal than waiting a good four hours for lunch time. The food on the other hand, not really my type of stuff. Sure, I’ll nom on a bowl of cereal and have a glass of juice, but outside of these and a few other choice items, I really don’t like anything else. Bacon and sausage? Not things I grew up eating so a natural distaste for them already, Eggs? Maybe for an early lunch but never for breakfast. Waffles? Eh.

Now before going further, I will say that I love french toast, muffins, and oatmeal. See, I’m not a total loser. But if you’ve noticed, I left one breakfast item out. Pancakes. Do I like them or hate them? Well, thanks to Ihop, I hate them. From the taste to the texture, these things are really not my cup of tea. It’s almost sad how one bad experience with something can forever change one’s opinion towards it. Sure, I’ve tried to overcome it but alas, it never seems to end well. The pancakes are either too doughy or just lack flavor. Additionally, I always feel like I have digested an anvil after eating a plate of the little saucers from hell. However, I am proud to report that my opinion of pancakes has started to shift.

For the first time in years, not only did I find myself craving pancakes, I wanted to make them myself, from scratch! Turns out, it’s true what they say about things being homemade, the difference in taste is astonishing. I think if I’ve had more homemade pancakes in my life than perhaps I would have seen the light sooner. Well, I guess better late than never. Hopefully my future Boston roommates like lemons and pancakes since I’ll definitely be making these again.

Lemon Pancakes with Mixed Fruit

From Masterchef: The Ultimate Cookbook

1 cup all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon granulated sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup buttermilk
3 tablespoons whole milk
1 large egg
2 tablespoons melted unsalted butter, plus about 2 tablespoons for frying
2 teaspoons finely grated lemon zest
1/2 cup fresh blackberries
1/2 cup fresh blueberries
1/2 cup fresh raspberries
1/2 cup confectioner’s sugar

  1. Whisk the flour granulated sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl to blend. Whisk the buttermilk, milk, egg, melted butter, and lemon zest in a medium bowl to blend. Keep the two mixtures separate until ready to cook.
  2. Heat a heavy griddle or skillet over medium heat. Once hot, coat the griddle or pan with some butter. Pour the wet mixture into the dry mixture and stir until a slightly lumpy batter forms. Using about 1/2 cup of the batter for each pancake, pour the batter onto the griddle, evenly spacing the pancakes. Cook until golden brown and puffed, about 2 1/2 minutes per side.
  3. Divide the hot pancakes among four plates, top with berries, east with confectioner’s sugar and serve.

Should make about 8 pancakes.

Leave a comment