Angry Librarian Rant

Welcome to what is surely going to be one of many posts wherein I tackle the ‘librarian’ part of this blog. Believe it or not, in just a few weeks (2!!) I will be moving to Boston to start grad school for library and information science. As cool as it is to always write about food, I figured why not throw in a bit variety to my little blog. Mix things up a bit every now and then. While I will try to make these segments as informative and interesting regarding the subject of library and information science, there will be the occasional rant or two. Keep in mind, I’m still a student after all so a few minor frustrations are bound to happen. Like this one.

images

Can’t you just feel the seething anger in this librarian’s eyes!!!

Today, my parents left home for a brief vacation leaving me home with my grandma and two cats. With nothing much to do, I decided to tackle this online tutorial thing that my school is requiring all its new students to do. Broken into different sections, the tutorial wants to be sure that all incoming students are comfortable using the campus’s web-based technologies, online research databases, and other resources. While I think offering students a chance to brush up on stuff they might not be familiar with is nice, that does not give the school an excuse to treat their students like idiots.

What is a database?

How do you cut and paste on a Mac or PC?

My Reaction?

Not_amused

I’m going to go out on a limb and say that these are things that if a person didn’t know than they probably would not have managed to get through their undergrad years let alone into grad school. But oh, the virtual belittlement gets worse. Those questions were only from the first part. In the second section, the questions focused on using the school’s library catalog and research database. Having worked four years in my undergrad’s library, I can honestly tell you that most library catalogs are the same. True they might have some differences but the basics are the same. Now I’m not trying to sound mean or anything, but once again, if a person didn’t know how to do this stuff, how on earth did they manage to graduate? Yea I can tell you horror stories of students at my undergrad coming up to me at the desk and admitting that, as seniors, they had never checked out a book before but they still knew how to research articles and journals. I would imagine that people who are going to grad school for library science would know something about well, libraries???

Am I crazy in thinking this??

Leave a Reply

