What Being a Foodie Means to Me

cool-cartoon-1089012Let’s just get this out of the way now and agree, food is great. For some, food is seen as a necessity for survival. For others, food creates an experience in which family, friends, and even strangers can come together to share culture, religion, politics, and stories. Over all, the possibilities with food are seemingly endless, in both a preparation and execution fashion. But about the people who are eating this said food? They vary just as much as the food does. From ages to gender, and everything in between, the list goes on. The same can be said for their food preferences. Some of them couldn’t care less what’s on the plate, they’ll eat just about anything. Others, will throw a fit if their meal doesn’t meet their specifications. Some know what they like and will try, on occasion, to be adventurous, to experience something new. Others will stick to what they know; its the familiar stuff that makes them happy. Considering such a variation of food eaters out there, where exactly do people who identify as foodies come in? In fact, what is a foodie?

According to the ever-reliable Urbandictionary.com, a foodie is:

A person that spends a keen amount of attention and energy on knowing the ingredients of food, the proper preparation of food, and finds great enjoyment in top-notch ingredients and exemplary preparation.

Yea, that sounds about right. Foodies are people who have apparently taken their love of food to the next level. These are the people who will geek out at the sign of a sale at of cookery or bake-ware on Amazon.com or at William & Sonoma. These are the people who will always have a camera on them whenever they go anywhere related to food, be it a strawberry field, farmer’s market, or restaurant. Basically, foodies are those who fall in the grey area between interest and obsession. Think trekies but for the food world.

So what exactly does this have to do with me? Well, since having my foodie awakening back in 2010, I’ve learned much regarding gastronomy and the culinary world. Prior to 2010, I was one of those people who simply ate food without thinking much about what I was putting into my mouth. Today, I try and stay on top of what is going on in the food world regarding flavor trends, social issues, and what not. While my friends are busy scrolling through Tumblr, I’m searching the web for new food blogs and recipes. Being a foodie is more than just a past time or a hobby, it has become a part of who I am. Not only do I love food, I appreciate it. For me at least, that’s the core of what being a foodie is all about. Appreciation.

One final note before signing off today. While I love being me, what I love about being a foodie is that I am not the only one. There is an ever growing population of us! Foodies United should totally become a thing, whether a website or some form of national/international club or organization. I know that I would join. Would you?

Till next time,

Litbaker

Leave a Reply

